Going bananas Thursday!

Hi! 

     Today there was so much fruit on the salad bar! The great thing about being at the pantry is when produce comes in we can use it for summer lunch too, because for the amount delivered, it is hard to give every last piece of produce away. There was everything from mango slices to pineapple and cantaloupe chunks. The fruit was coming out our ears! The great thing about that is that the kids LOVE fruit. 

     Now on to the veggies, a bag of snow peas were found so that was a fun unexpected addition. I made homemade hummus for the kids to dip their veggies in. I don’t think they were the biggest fans of hummus because the two kids that showed up today are kind of picky. I also caramelized some onions. And then there were the usual suspects on the salad bar like green peppers, carrots, romaine, cherry tomatoes, and I think that’s it. 

Fruit SaladImage

Mango Slices

Image

Snow Peas!

Image

Homemade hummus with fresh herbs, garlic and a touch of the caramelized onion.

 

Image

Caramelized Onion!

Image

The Salad Bar as a whole

Image

Image

 

I personally love how pretty salad bars look. They are so colorful and rainbow like. All the color makes me smile. What can I say I’m proud of my salad bar creations. 🙂 

 

Today before I left I prepped some bananas and popped them in the freezer to make banana “ice cream”. I can’t wait for that tomorrow with all this heat we’ve been having! 

 

Quote (not from a kid today but I found it and liked it) 

“We are living in a world today where lemonade is made from artificial flavors and furniture polish is made from real lemons.” 

-Alfred E. Newman

 

It’s sad how this quote is so true. Exposing kids to good healthy foods can change this quote and that is what I’m trying to do. 

Leave a Reply

