Saturday Afternoon Roasted Red Pepper Hummus :)

Hi!

So I just wanted to share my “recipe” for homemade roasted red pepper hummus. The reason for the quotes is because there isn’t really an  exact recipe for it. I had to go to a cookout one day and thought hmm I want to make my own hummus. So I thought of a few key ingredients I wanted to include and went with it. I just tasted as I went along with a few key steps of the process. Well here it goes…

Ingredients

1 can of chickpeas

1 can of white beans/cannelloni beans

4-5 cloves of garlic

1/2 cup olive or so, maybe a little less(depends on consistency preference)

1/2 cup caramelized onion equals about 1 large onion uncooked (optional but gives a rich depth of flavor)

about 2 roasted red peppers (I used about half of Trader Joe’s jarred Red and Yellow Roasted Peppers)

Tahinni to taste, In a half batch I made today I used about a tablespoon

1/2-1 teaspoon Smoked Paprika (if you have some)

Juice of 1 to 2 lemons ( taste as you go, don’t just dump it all in at once)

Step 1: Drain and rinse the beans, place in a pot of water and heat on stove until they are hot through. After warmed through drain again. The warm beans puree easier, and it seems to make the hummus creamier. If you’re feeling really ambitious you can take a couple handfuls of the beans and deskin them to make the hummus more creamy.

Step 2: Peel and crush garlic. I like to heat the garlic in the olive oil along with the roasted red peppers to warm everything up. Let cook for about 2-3 minutes. Cooking the garlic for a minute or 2 helps take away the harshness it can have.

Step 3: Put the beans, tahinni, garlic, half of the lemon juice and peppers in a bowl, blender, or food processor ( I use an immersion blender and it works like a charm). Start to blend and then taste to see if you want more lemon juice or to see if you want to make it creamier/thinner by adding more of the olive oil. Once you’re content with the taste and texture you’re ready to enjoy!

Have a happy weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

