Whoa Wednesday!

Hi!

Today was awesome! The Food Project came in today and ate lunch too. So we had a total of 13 kids who got lunches! Again I sound like a broken record but I love when they come in and we get a high number of kids. I especially love it because the kids are so appreciative of the lunch!

I made a chicken, vegetable, and pasta bake. It had everything from zucchini, garlic scapes, orange peppers, kale, canned tomatoes, onion, peas, ricotta cheese, and pasta in it. Then I sprinkled the top with homemade bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese. Last, I popped it in the oven until the top was nice and brown and heated through. It was delicious! I think about 8 or 9 of the kids had a second scoop of it! It was a huge hit amongst the kids. Days like this make me so happy inside. 🙂

The salad bar options were romaine lettuce, sliced cucumbers, orange pepper rings, radish flowers, multicolored grapes, roasted eggplant, pineapple and mango, grape tomatoes, summer squash rings and I also made a watermelon hedgehog!

**The salad bar pictures are lacking some of the options because I took pictures after everyone went through the line.

20120718-170932.jpg

20120718-170948.jpg

20120718-171003.jpg

20120718-171013.jpg

20120718-171021.jpg

20120718-171029.jpg

20120718-171036.jpg

Quote of the Day
“One day we’ll come in and make you a three course meal for lunch!”-from one of the kids in the Food Project, they really are the sweetest teenagers.

Leave a Reply

