Monday and Tuesday!

Hi!
Yesterday was a great day for harvesting from the gardens! I think I picked 11 peppers, 8 eggplant, almost a pint of tomatoes, and a zucchini. It was so amazing and so much fun picking everything. I look at it as a treasure hunt because you never know what’s waiting out there to be picked! Here’s a picture of the harvest:

20120814-160819.jpg

Then I’m posting the salad bar pictures from Monday and today!
Monday’s Salad Bar
We had roasted eggplant, sliced purple, green, and red peppers, clementines, bananas, sautéed broccoli stems, romaine lettuce, green beans and roasted beets, and cucumbers.

20120814-161059.jpg

20120814-161548.jpg

Tuesday’s Salad Bar!
Today we had fresh mozzarella, tomato, and basil salad drizzled with a balsamic vinegarette, sliced yellow cucumbers (aka salt & pepper cucumbers), sliced multicolored peppers, pears with a homemade fruit dip (pomegranate yogurt, cream cheese, & strawberry preserves), roasted carrots, hard boiled eggs, romaine lettuce, and a beet & broccoli salad.

20120814-162155.jpg

20120814-162214.jpg

20120814-162226.jpg

20120814-162237.jpg

20120814-162248.jpg

Then after lunch today I was told that one of the local farms donated 400 lbs of fresh produce so I was able to grab half a dozen local cantaloupe, 20 ears of corn and many beautiful various types of tomatoes! It was like there was a farm fairy that delivered today 🙂 I was so happy when I was able to take my pick of everything! Here are my picks:

20120814-162540.jpg

“Quote of the Day”
Me: hey did you try the yellow cucumbers?
Child: Oh those are cucumbers? I gave them to my brother because I thought it was squash.
Me: You should try them, they’re really tasty even better than green in my opinion.
Child: (tries the cucumber) Hey you’re right they really are good!

And this is why I love my job, I’m able to introduce kids to vegetables they didn’t even think they liked but ends up they do!

Leave a Reply

