Whoa two weeks in!

Hi!

So the past two weeks have been crazy! My classes are going to be interesting this semester but really time consuming, so if I’m absent from this I’m most likely doing homework instead.

This past week I’ve realized how important it is to bring snacks and pack lunches for yourself. Not only is it healthier but a lot cheaper. On a college student’s budget every penny counts. So today I went to Trader Joe’s to pick up some goodies. I bought lots of dried fruit, frozen vegetables, dried lentils, quinoa, and brown and mixed rices.

The Plan
So far I already made granola bars with oats, dried cherries, dried apricots, dried pineapple, golden raisins, sun flower seeds, and chia seeds. For the “glue” I puréed a banana, concord grapes, a few fresh cherries, honey, and canola oil. Then I simmered it stirring constantly until it thickened and darkened in color a bit. Then I just mixed everything together and voila you’re done! You can also melt some really dark chocolate and put that on top too, that’s what I did 🙂

I plan on making a stir fry with the vegetables and putting it over rice or quinoa for my lunches. I bought peppers, mini Brussels sprouts, green beans, and artichokes. I’m definitely looking forward to my lunches next week!

So here’s my life in pictures these past couple of weeks:

20120914-184904.jpg
This would be me taking a picture of the bridge while stuck in traffic on Storrow Drive. Commuting can be full of traffic in the morning.

20120914-185058.jpg
This was in the library at school before my first class of the semester and i was already doing homework.

20120914-185313.jpg
This is my drink creation with oatmeal, milk, yogurt, cinnamon, a scoop of protein powder, a teaspoon of salted caramel, and some ice all blended up into a shake. It was pretty tasty for never making it before.

20120914-185546.jpg
I do enjoy my view on the way to school.

20120914-185641.jpg
Another new thing I made last weekend was baked oatmeal. This was a blueberry baked oatmeal recipe I found on tastespotting.com I think it was. It was delicious! Very tasty and heats up great the next morning too, you could easily make a big batch and reheat all week.

20120914-185956.jpg
The cafe at school has a new noodle bar this year and it’s fabulous! You can fill the bowl with as many veggies and noodles and toppings as you would like. I chose mushrooms, peppers, napa cabbage, snow peas, carrots, noodles, fresh garlic and ginger, cilantro, sesame oil, and a general gau flavored broth. These are so yummy! I love it.

20120914-190340.jpg
Sitting on the quad at school enjoying the weather!

20120914-190505.jpg
This is the pan of granola bars before they got a coating of 85% dark chocolate.

Well that was my life the past couple of weeks, now I’m off to go work on a lab assignment where I describe the digestion and absorption of a piece of pizza. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

