Chocolate Smoothie madness

Hi! 

This afternoon I concocted a smoothie that is FULL of fiber, protein, and healthy fats that will keep you satisfied for hours. It has a variety of ingredients to it and is one of my favorites yet. I have to mention that it is not a very sweet smoothie/shake but if you like dark chocolate and berries you will appreciate this recipe. I like this smoothie because it also has a hint of coconut flavor to it. 

Chocolate Berry Smoothie Recipe 

2 tablespoons chia seeds

2 tablespoons hemp hearts

2 tablespoons coco powder (i use the trader joe’s brand and find it has a pleasant taste) 

2 medjool dates (for added sweetness and 3 grams fiber) 

1/2 tablespoon sunflower seeds

1 tablespoon virgin coconut oil

1 teaspoon or so of cinnamon

1/2 cup frozen spinach

1/4 cup frozen cranberries

1/4 cup frozen blue berries

1/4 cup frozen dark cherries

and finally 1 cup of cold water and 4-5 ice cubes

Usually when I am finished making the smoothie it results in about 2 cups of smoothie and then I add some water to the blender and top off my 24 oz cup with the blender remains. You don’t have to add extra water but I prefer a thinner smoothie 🙂 

Here’s some pictures and the nutritional stats of the smoothie. Just a side note, this smoothie is high in calories so if your watching them I would suggest having half the smoothie because it is equivalent to a meal or more. The full recipe is a total of 653 calories.

ImageImageImage   It looks like sludge water thanks to the spinach, cocoa powder, and berries; but it tastes delicious! 

Image   

I calculated these stats from using the app called MyFitnessPal. I’m thinking that on a weekly basis I’ll feature my smoothie of the day. Until next time, have a great week!  

Leave a Reply

