Finally!

Heyy!

So after about 9 months total of planning and hard work we are officially moved into our studio style apartment. Words can not explain how excited I am to be in a place I can call home. I am so overwhelmed with joy to be able to have a place that is equally both Sean’s and mine. I am still in disbelief that it is ours. We go to sleep at night and still feel like we are staying somewhere and it will have to come to an end. BUT the best part is that it won’t have to end. The best part so far has been being able to do whatever I want when I want, simply put. Selfish sounding maybe, but it’s the truth.

Now there are a lot more things I have to look forward to like:

  • I can’t wait to decorate for Christmas and have our own Christmas tree and all that jazz.
  • Or being able to actually have a place to blog about recipes again and put time into this more often.
  • Create all sorts of things in our make shift kitchen, equipped with high power hot plates, a halogen oven, vitamix, kitchen aid, ice cream maker, microwave and ample prep space!
  • And many more that I can’t think of right now!

Now for some pictures (keep in mind it is not 100% complete, I would say at least 95% though 🙂

Here is a sort of before picture. This was when they finished the framing and insulating.

Here is a sort of before picture. This was when they finished the framing and insulating.

We bought two Cadco burners that work great,  we are pretty sure they heat pans faster than the electric stove upstairs. Oh and the Croc Pot is favorite!

We bought two Cadco burners that work great, we are pretty sure they heat pans faster than the electric stove upstairs. Oh and the Croc Pot is favorite!

This is our make shift table for now until we are able to get the table that is currently at my mom's house)  Those shelves are a god sent and give us ample pantry space.

This is our make shift table for now until we are able to get the table that is currently at my mom’s house)
Those shelves are a god sent and give us ample pantry space.

We got a GIANT pumpkin to make our place feel festive :)

We got a GIANT pumpkin to make our place feel festive 🙂

Meet Picasso (Sean picked him)

Meet Picasso (Sean picked him)

We will eventially turn this into more of a wall and the put pictures on it to break up the space more.

We will eventually turn this into more of a wall and then put pictures on it to break up the space more.

As you can probably tell, I frequented Ikea a lot! If it wasn’t for that store I don’t know what I would have done. I could take out stock for the amount of money I spent there over the past couple of months. Guess who put it all together too? ME. Because I was determined to get it all done and Sean has NO patience for Ikea stuff. All of the hard work was definitely worth it in the end. I have to thank my mom and her boyfriend too who built the space from the framing to the insulating to the walls and ceiling. They turned it from the typical unfinished basement to a BEAUTIFUL extra space that we can call home now. We can not express how grateful we are for their hard and dedicated work. We are also grateful for Sean’s parents letting us do this project. It is something they always wanted to get done. So it was a Win Win situation. I sound like a broken record but I just LOVE it.

So hopefully there will be recipes to follow over the next week or so. I currently have fresh picked apples in the croc pot bubbling away into homemade applesauce. 🙂

Have a great week!

Kelly

One response

Leave a Reply

