A Girl’s Night Dinner Party

Heyy!

Tonight I had my friends Susan and Jen over for dinner. We had some fantastic food and a festive beverage. I made Croq au Riesling, which is chicken simmered with mushrooms, onion, bacon, and Riesling cream sauce until all the flavors are happy together. That was so heavenly! For the side, I roasted those little baby potatoes with garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and fresh parsley. To drink with dinner I made a winter sangria that had pomegranate juice, apple cider, blood oranges, and cinnamon sticks. It was a refreshing an straight yummy drink with the rich chicken dish. Then, for dessert I made vanilla coconut milk ice cream with a hint of cinnamon to put on top of the best gluten free fudge brownies ever. The ice cream was served soft serve style straight from the ice cream maker to top the brownies. That was pure brownie sundae bliss. (recipe links at the bottom, found via Pinterest)  I didn’t get a chance to snap a picture of the chicken because I was too distracted in good conversation to remember. Whoops.

SANGRIA!  Enough said.

SANGRIA! Enough said.

The best gluten free fudge brownies.

The best gluten free fudge brownies.

The potatoes getting yummy hanging out in the olive oil and spices before I roasted them.

The potatoes getting yummy hanging out in the olive oil and spices before I roasted them.

I saw these in the store today and had to buy them because I love Gerber Daisies and they're going to be the flowers for my wedding!

I saw these in the store today and had to buy them because I love Gerber Daisies and they’re going to be the flowers for my wedding!

Tonight was an awesome night being able to catch up with friends. We had genuine conversations that just reinforce the importance of spending time with good people that bring your energy up. I love my friends and I was so happy that they we’re able to meet Sean tonight too. 🙂 They also convinced me to do a post about my apartment and how to utilize our small space. So I’ll be posting that soon; hopefully tomorrow!

Have a good night!

Links to the fabulous recipes I used tonight        (the ice cream was my own recipe that I’ll post in the future)

http://www.theroastedroot.net/winter-sangria-with-pomegranate-blood-orange-and-apple/          (sangria)

http://simply-delicious-food.com/2013/06/26/nigel-slaters-coq-au-riesling/            (chicken)

http://deliciouslyorganic.net/fudgy-brownie-recipe-grain-free-paleo/            (brownies)

Leave a Reply

