Pancake cravings…Gluten free ones too!

Hey!

Lately I have been in a pancake groove in the morning of my days off. I have been craving pancakes for some bizarre reason. The last time I had pancakes so many times in two weeks was when I was in the USVI. The little restaurant at the campground had the best pancakes. If I didn’t get them I felt like I was missing something. But this time around my pancakes are gluten free, fluffy, and delicious. I found the recipe via pinterest where it took me to Laura Fuentes’s lovely blog. The link is after the pictures 🙂

Today I added a little variation by using a quarter of a banana for some added flavor instead of the applesauce. I always use full fat coconut milk as the milk for the recipe and King Arthur Gluten Free Flour Mix. Then I always add the appropriate amount of xanthan gum. Instead of using the flax seed in the recipe I use 1 egg.  Then I follow the rest of the recipe exact.

Today I added a little variation by using a quarter of a banana for some added flavor instead of the applesauce. I always use full fat coconut milk as the milk for the recipe and King Arthur Gluten Free Flour Mix. Then I always add the appropriate amount of xanthan gum. Instead of using the flax seed in the recipe I use 1 egg. Then I follow the rest of the recipe exact. Oh yea today I even added a couple scoops of my favorite protein powder just to give them a protein boost. 

These cook up well in the pan and just as fragile as a normal pancake would be.

These cook up well in the pan and are just as fragile as a normal pancake would be. The batter can be thick sometimes but just spread it a bit after the initial amount is in the pan. (Do so right away though) I liberally cover the pan with a bit a butter just to be safe but they don’t stick easily if there is only a very thin coating of butter/oil in the pan. 

The finished product! Serve with some warmed maple syrup or fruit or both and enjoy! There you have fluffy gluten free pancakes.

The finished product! Serve with some warmed maple syrup or fruit or both and enjoy! There you have fluffy gluten free pancakes.

These pancakes really are spot on. Even my fiance Sean enjoyed them and he’s not the biggest pancake eater. Enjoy!

Here’s the link to the recipe: http://www.laurafuentes.com/easy-gluten-free-pancake-recipe/

Leave a Reply

